#10CC “I’m Not in Love” by @WatcherOfTheSky and @StardustBluCEO for @Indiestardust

10cc10 CC – I’m Not In Love by Joe D’Ambrosio @WatcherOfTheSky and Karen A. Brown @StardustBluCEO for @Indiestardust

This has to be one of my all time favorite tunes. Released in 1975, it hit #2 on the Charts on July 26th 1975 and to me it whispers. It takes you to another diminsional time and carries you away in love. Not to mention the backstory. So, I enlisted my friend Joe D’Ambrosio, who is a 32 year veteran of the music industry, to join me on this one.

 

Joe writes:

What may seem like an ‘ordinary song’ for most, 10cc’s “I’m Not In Love” was a landmark song for me. Top Ten All Time. The warmth of the vocals, the emotion of it all totally defined in the single line “Be Quiet. Big Boys Don’t Cry. Big Boys Don’t Cry. Big Boys Don’t Cry. (repeat)” gave this 19 year old (at the time-1975) so much more understanding of love and loss, I can’t tell you.

In my mind’s eye, this was not about ‘not’ being in love at all; this was all about being in love:

I’m not in love
So don’t forget it
It’s just a silly phase I’m going through
And just because
I call you up
Don’t get me wrong, don’t think you’ve got it made

He is absolutely DEEP in love and facing love lost. He’s calling her up and getting no where. Heart b-r-e-a-k-i-ng. And it’s captured so perfectly by Eric, Lol, Graham and Kevin (Stewart, Crème, Gouldman and Godley)that it’s a wonder it wasn’t the biggest hit of the year.

I like to see you
But then again
That doesn’t mean you mean that much to me
So if I call you
Don’t make a fuss
Don’t tell your friends about the two of us

She won’t make a fuss. You’re lucky if she listens to your message. She’s gone.

I keep your picture
Upon the wall
It hides a nasty stain that’s lying there
So don’t you ask me
To give it back
I know you know it doesn’t mean that much to me

Madly in love, picture on the wall, trying to talk himself into how little it means…when it means everything to him.

Ooh you’ll wait a long time for me
Ooh you’ll wait a long time
Ooh you’ll wait a long time for me
Ooh you’ll wait a long time

For all of us who have loves lost, I hope you’ve found yours as I have. After all, those loves lost are not waiting for you or me, they’re on to their love found.

“I’m Not In Love” indeed. What a masterwork, which, by the way, comes from one of my very few PERFECT albums: The Original Soundtrack by 10cc.

Exerpt taken from Richard Buskin’s article 2004 “CLASSIC TRACKS: 10cc ‘I’m Not In Love'”
“At that time my wife and I had been married about eight years,” Eric Stewart recalls, “and she asked me ‘Why don’t you say “I love you” more often?’ I had this crazy idea in my mind that repeating those words would somehow degrade the meaning, so I told her ‘Well, if I say every day “I love you, darling, I love you, blah, blah, blah,” it’s not gonna mean anything eventually.’ That statement led me to try to figure out another way of saying it, and the result was that I chose to say ‘I’m not in love with you,’ while subtly giving all the reasons throughout the song why I could never let go of this relationship.” Evidently, the reverse psychology worked, because the Stewarts recently celebrated their 39th wedding anniversary.

10cc – I’m Not In Love – Making of Documentary

“I’m not in Love” Live

 

Joe D’Ambrosio is a 32 year veteran of the music industry and currently runs his talent mgmt company representing Tony Visconti – Hugh Padgham – Elliot Scheiner – Joe Zook – Frank Filipetti – Kevin Killen – Jay Newland – Rob Mounsey – Larry Gold – Thom Monahan – Lawrence Manchester – Adam Dorn – Dave Eggar – Mario McNulty – Eric Robinson – Justin Glasco – Nic Hard – Brian Moncarz – Matty Amendola – Nathaniel Hare – Jason Moss Follow Joe D’Ambrosio on twitter @WatcherOfTheSky

 Order the album on Amazon!10cc

4 thoughts on “#10CC “I’m Not in Love” by @WatcherOfTheSky and @StardustBluCEO for @Indiestardust

Leave a Reply

